The Effect of Temperature on How High a Rubber Ball Bounces

PREFACE

Elasticity is the ability of a material to return to its original length, shape, or size immediately after a deforming force has been removed.

OBJECTIVE

To determine the effect of temperature on how high a rubber ball bounces.

MATTERS

  1. Does temperature effect the height of a rubber ball’s bounce?
  2. In what kind of temperature does a rubber ball bounce higher?

HYPOTHESIS

  1. Temperature does effect the height of a rubber ball’s bounce.
  2. A rubber ball will bounce higher in a hot or warm temperature.

MATERIALS & TOOLS

  • Pencil
  • Thermometer
  • Freezer
  • Two rubber balls
  • Boiled water
  • Ruler

PROCEDURE I

  1. Two rubber balls with the same shape and size are prepared (the colour is Turquoise and Orange)
  2. The Orange ball is being put in the freezer (O° C) for a couple of minutes.
  3. The temperature of the freezer is measured using a room temperature thermometer.
  4. The Orange ball is dropped from 1 m height and being caught at its arch point (highest height of bounce).
  5. Height of the bounce is measured by marking a wall and by counting the mark height using a ruler.
  6. The steps are done repeatedly.
  7. Result is noted on a paper.

PROCEDURE II

  1. Water is boiled until it reaches 100°C.
  2. The Turquoise ball is being put into the boiling water for 5 minutes.
  3. The Turquoise ball is dropped from 1 m height and being caught at its arch point.
  4. The rest of the steps are the same as the previous procedure.

PROCEDURE III

  1. The Orange and Turquoise rubber balls are placed in a normal temperature room (the temperature is measured using a thermometer) for a few hours to get them back to their original temperature.
  2. Both balls are dropped from 1 m height by turns and being caught at their arch point.
  3. The rest of the steps are the same as the previous procedure.

DATA & RESULT

Orange Ball Bounce Record   Turquoise Ball Bounce Record

Both Balls Bounce Record (100°C & 0°C)

ANALYSIS

  • Because the balls weren’t tested at a 28°C from the start, it cannot be assured whether they have different bounce heights from the beginning.
  • After being boiled, the Turquoise ball gets a little sticky. On the contrary, the Orange ball’s surface was really smooth after being frozen.
  • When the balls were put out from hot or cold temperature, the bounce height decreases.
  • The frozen Orange ball bounced higher than the boiled Turquoise ball.
  • There seems to be about 5.375 cm difference between the bounce height of both rubber balls.

EVALUATION

  • The rubber balls do work like how they should when they are dropped to the ground: “When a ball is dropped to a hard floor, it will rebound. But even the bounciest ball will not bounce back to its starting position.”
  • “The height of the bounce increases as the temperature increases is because as the temperature of the ball has increased, this heat has two effect: the air inside the ball becomes pressurized, and the rubber compound from which the ball is made becomes more resilient.”
  • The rubber balls used in this experiment don’t have any air inside of them. Instead, they are a solid material. This makes the theory of pressurized air doesn’t work with these kind of rubber balls – which explained why temperature doesn’t effect much of their bounce height.

CONCLUSION

  1. Temperature does effect the bounce height of a rubber ball (it is resulted in this experiment that the bounce height changed after the balls were being put into boiled water and freezer).
  2. The rubber balls used in this experiment don’t work the same way as a squash ball etc., so the bounce height wouldn’t increase as the temperature goes higher.
38 Responses to “The Effect of Temperature on How High a Rubber Ball Bounces”

  1. mitchell Says:

    sounds awesome tic toc tic toc this experament was awsome

  2. Britnee West Says:

    I really enjoyed this website. It helped my a lot with my school research project on this topic. Thank you very much for this reliable source.

    • technowyvern Says:

      @Britnee: It’s my pleasure to be able to help you .. I don’t know if my experiment is reliable enough, but I did it my self so I can assure you that the datas are true. Thanks. :)

  3. This also helped me sooooo very much. Thanks!

  4. Anonomys Says:

    didn’t match what i did & i did the same thing, something is wrong

    • technowyvern Says:

      You’re right, actually. Something was wrong. It was a really silly experimentation because I did it with a different type of rubber ball. They tell me to use squash ball, but I use “bekel.” LMAO!! XDD

      Anyway, I explained what I did wrong and how the result came to be. *check out the ANALYSIS, EVALUATION, and CONCLUSION part of my report above*

      Well, thanks for commenting! =)

  5. This is a really good idea i hope i get 1st place at school

  6. Cheers man, you helped me a lot with a school assignment. I also made the same mistake with the solid balls, although my experiment showed the hot balls bounced higher.

    • technowyvern Says:

      @Donicle: Did I? I’m really glad. =) It’s great that you got the right result. Perhaps my “bekel” balls were too solid.

  7. camie zhu Says:

    This website was the best science webste i ever gone on!! Thank u for helping me!!!!!!!! i will favorite this wbsite so i ill always get a look at the experiment

    • technowyvern Says:

      @Camie Zhu: Thank you very much, dear!! (=^___^=) I’m very pleased to be able to help you!!

      I’m not sure if this blog deserves high appraisal as a science website, though. Because, you see, I also wrote social articles here .. There are even poems, field trip reports, etc. They’re all school projects.

      And .. Well .. Hopefully, I’m going to graduate soon, so I guess I won’t be maintaining this site that much anymore. I’m so sorry. Maybe you can try to look around for a more reliable science website .. I really hope you’ll find many ones that are much better than mine. ;-)

  8. i will do this next year 2!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • technowyvern Says:

      @Morgan: Hey, thanks for leaving comments ^^ And congratulations for getting an A+ at the science fair!! Good luck next year, too ^^

  9. Thankyou, this really helps with my coursework x

  10. Thanks so much for this experiment!
    It’s helped me heaps with my science assessment. It’s the same topic i am doing. :)

  11. Awesome:D it was very useful in my research writing:D thx

  12. This is gonna helped me soooo much, I was getting panicky on my SRP, but I can do this cos I get it now.

    THNXXX!!!

    • technowyvern Says:

      Aww don’t panick ^^ Things like this can give a little headache sometimes, but I guess the whole experience worths a try. ;) And you’re welcome!

  13. technowyvern Says:

    *Ehm* Btw, just in case anyone else will find this silly experiment report of mine .. Be sure to read the analysis, evaluation, & conclusion parts carefully.

    Reading the comments will also be a bit useful. You’ll know what to NOT do in your own experiment on this same subject .. ;) *Unless you want to test how bekel balls “respond” to temperature, haha*

  14. Thanks a ton! Actually, we are just doing a project where we find out websites about our topics (this one was mine) and use special websites that prove if the website has correct content. Thanks a ton! These websites are hard to come by!

    • technowyvern Says:

      That’s cool, man! And never mind! Lucky this blog turns out to be more useful than I thought it would, haha ..

  15. can i do this one because i did one but my brother made me take of it all off my board and i hopeful to use your . please

  16. i really need to no because it due tomorrow

  17. please

    • technowyvern Says:

      Gianna, I’m very sorry for replying so late! :( I rarely open this blog and I’ve long stopped updating it .. So what did you do about the experiment? Did you use mine? It’s okay if you did. And if you didn’t, I hope you found a way to tackle the problem.

  18. Shadow Wolf Says:

    I almost made the same mistake you did in the first place, because I used gel balls thinking it was rubber balls. Then when I realized I switched the balls and got appropriate results for the rubber balls. By doing all of this I realized one thing that molecular structure and Brownian motion are two big factors in this project. Thanks for the blog it helped me understand why I got the results i got when testing the gel balls

  19. Everyone loves what you guys tend to be up too. Such clever
    work and coverage! Keep up the superb works guys I’ve added you guys to our blogroll.

  20. this is awesome

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

